This section of the Options Screen contains the main options of MirageOS,
which affect major aspects of the shell's function and display methods. The
option items in this section that the user has the ability to alter are as
follows: Auto-Folder Sort, Show Hidden Files, Confirm Deletions, Show Prog
Images, and Reset System Defaults. These can be seem from the screenshot to
the right, which the Default settings are shown for, and more information
about each of these option items are located below.
Auto-Folder Sort: Default Setting: ON
This option controls whether or not the shell automatically sorts all
folders each time you start the shell. Whenever you load new programs
onto the calculator, they will appear at the bottom of the list of
programs until a sort is performed. You can manually sort each folder
from the Sort menu on the function bar, or you can have MirageOS do this
for you automatically at startup, by having this option On. If the state
of this flag is altered, its changes will not take effect until the next
time you start MirageOS, and the folders will be sorted or not, accordingly.
NOTE: If this option is set and you load many programs to your calculator
at once, the shell will take some time to sort them all. Your calculator
may look like it has frozen at startup of the shell, but be patient until
You can try to avoid this long wait at startup by turning Off this
option and letting the programs be out of order until you choose to
sort the folder again yourself. If a folder says it is sorted by
Name, this wont be necessarily true, and you have to chose Name
again from the Sort menu, for the arrangement to be correct again.
This aspect of sorting goes for all other sort types as well.
Show Hidden Files: Default Setting: OFF
This option controls an aspect in the shell of whether or not Hidden Files
will be displayed in the Program Manager and other interfaces. If this option
is On, then any files you hide will be hidden from the TI-OS PRGM menu, but
will still be visible in MirageOS. If this option is Off, then any programs
you hide from the TI-OS will also be hidden from MirageOS and will disappear
the moment you hide them.
If the setting for this option is altered, then MirageOS will restart the
current interface, sending the cursor and program locations to their starting
places in the interface. If you are using the Program Manager, then all folders
will be closed and the cursor will start on Main. This restart is necessary
when changing this option because the interfaces need to look up all programs
again to detect or not detect programs, according to their hidden state.
This option was turned Off by default so that the user could see the programs
disappear that they are hiding from the Program Manager, and take notice that
it is working correctly. That would signify the programs are being hidden
correctly in the TI-OS, and the user wont be able to toggle the Hide function
on that program again. The user should turn this option on in order to see
any hidden programs in the shell, so that they can be Unhidden from the TI-OS
at any point in the future.
Confirm Deletions: Default Setting: ON
This option controls the confirmation message displayed to the user when
they want to delete a folder or program from the Program Manager Interface.
If this option is On, a message will come up after choosing Del from the
Function Bar, saying either "Delete This Folder? Y/N" or "Delete This
Program? Y/N", and you will be forced to press the 'Y' or 'N' keys for your
If you press the 'Y' key at this prompt, the Program Manager will continue
to delete the highlighted folder or program. If you press 'N', it will not
be deleted, the confirmation prompt will clear, and the Program Manager
will resume normally.
If this option is turned Off, then no Confirmation message will be given
to the user, and the selected folder or program will be deleted immediatly,
and the Program Manager Interface will update accordingly.
This option is turned On by default so that the message is displayed to
the user, and they know what is going on at the moment. This precaution
is to prevent anyone from accidentally deleting a program or folder with
the Del function if they didnt want to. This option should be turned Off
when the user becomes familiar with using the Del function, and no longer
want to see that confirmation message.
Show Prog Images: Default Setting: OFF
This option controls the display settings of the File Info in the Program
Manager Interface. If this option is off, the Program Manager will show
the full text for each aspect of programs, (i.e., "ARCHED", "HIDDEN",
"LOCKED", and "ATTRIB"), however, if this option is On, the Program
Manager will show the Graphic for each program, and then a shortened
version of each text aspect.
Having this option On lets the user see the "Button Graphic" associated
with each MirageOS program, which were originally meant for the Graphical
Buttons Interface, but were also allowed to be seen from the Program
Manager using this option. When you put your cursor onto a program,
the File Info box will show some text: "Prog Img" and then the bordered
graphic to the right. If you are currently selecting a MirageOS program,
its custom graphic will be shown, but if you are on an ION, Basic, or
TI-82 program, then a generic graphic will be shown for that program.
Using the Show Prog Images option lets you see the images for programs
without using the Graphical Buttons interface, and then the other File
Properties are shown in shortened form (i.e., "A" for Archived, "H" for
Hidden, and "L" for Locked) so that all the File Info can still fit in
the Program Manager.
This option was turned Off by default so that the user could notice the
longer names of the File Info aspects, and not be confused by the shortened
forms of those properties. After the user becomes familiar with what
information the File Info box shows, they may then want to enable this
option, in order to view the program Images, but this is all according
Reset System Defaults: Option Command Process
This command allows the user to Reset System Defaults for MirageOS and
all the TI-OS aspects that are related to MirageOS. All settings will
be returned to normal, from what the shell had upon the first startup,
or whenever the AppVar is deleted and MirageOS needs to recreate it.
This command also deletes all custom folders that were created by the
user, and sends any programs in those folders to the MAIN folder.
This is done since the option to "Move Progs To MAIN At Folder Deletion"
will become turned On upon resetting defaults.
The sort state for the Main folder will be returned to Sort By Name,
however, it will not be sorted immediatly, and that change will only
take effect upon the next startup, or when you manually sort the folder.
The password you may have had set will also become deleted, since
everything is being restored to the default state. Be cautious of
using this command, if you dont want to remove your password or loose
the folders you have currently.